R26 transmission cover removal

Begonnen von Tiago, 21 Juni 2019, 22:09:59

« vorheriges - nächstes »

Tiago

Hello guys,

It has been some time since I last posted here, from past issues with the R27 which you guys helped a lot.

I am now fully restoring a R26 that was badly neglected but apparently running (until I went to see it :p). So I am inspecting everything and starting with the engine and transmission.

This is my first time dismantling the transmission, I am following instructions from the famous Barrington Motor Works manual but even so I am having difficulties removing the cover which needs to be replaced as well, I can only open the gap a few millimeters ( see photos).

I am assuming that the kickstart will come off with the cover and that the output shaft bearing is not moving with the cover (I tap it lightly). And yes, I am heating the cover (with a heat gun).

Can anyone point me in the correct direction from here? What am I missing?

Thank you for your support :)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Tiago

bwprice100

Hi Toago

I would remove the kick start lever first before removing the cover then it is just heat but if a previous mechanic nay have used loctite a good heating will be needed.

Brian

Sent by me using tapety talky

Herculestom

Hi Tiago,

my recommendation would be to heat the whole gear box properly and evenly up to about 120 degrees C. Sorry to say, but mama's kitchen oven will be ideal to do that.

If you have a closer look at the gear box, you'll find two or three elevated areas on the cover. The one I can see just above the drain plug. They have been placed there for a reason. With a warmed up gear box and plastic hammer (a normal steel hammer is a no-go!) you'll be able to get the cover off the box. Important to work slowly around the box and to make use of these elevated areas.