Hello from England

Begonnen von side valve, 30 April 2021, 17:25:11

« vorheriges - nächstes »

side valve

Hello everyone Calvin here, I own a 1959 BMW R26, but a bit of history first, I hope you find it amusing.
It all started in 1973 with a Honda ss50, anyone from that era will remember the Honda "fabulous fours". I graduated to a Honda 350 Four to the 500 four and the 750 four, all great machines.

In 1981 I was on holiday in North Wales. Parked on the pavement was the strangest motorcycle I'd ever seen, weird looking front forks ( I later found out they were called girders), no rear suspension, no dual seat (just a saddle) and Dutch number plates. I waited for the owner to appear, and was informed it was BSA M20 500cc side valve. I did not know it, but it would be the start of 40 years riding oldtimer motorcycles.

A few months later a M20 came up for sale, it was regarded as the cheapest and biggest pile of rubbish one could buy. I loved it, easy to start (using "the ritual"). A total machine for less than renewing one of the four pipes on the Honda. It was soon pressed into the run to work, easily starting even at 6am after night-shift. Incredibly reliable and virtually worthless.

I joined the local oldtimer bike club and was introduced to the world of vintage motorcycles, manual advance and retard, manual oil pumps, lever throttles, hand change gearbox, bicycle type brake blocks, belt drive, 2 speeds no clutch. My new friends (all my parents age), simply regarded the M20 as completely normal. They soon let me into the secrets of the magneto and dynamo, adjusting girder forks, exhaust valve lifters, boiling chains and greasing wheel bearings. ( very sadly 40 years later most have passed away).

Over the years, various vintage motorcycles came and went including a 1934 BSA 3 wheeler, but I always kept that first machine the 1940 BSA M20.