R25/3 -54 will not charge...damned red light!

Begonnen von FelixM, 12 Juli 2021, 11:26:14

« vorheriges - nächstes »

FelixM

Hi folks! Swedish user here. Although I understand som german, english is easier for me. However, dont hesitate to use german terms as well...

Problem: Last summer on a longer drive the engine died. Empty battery. I therefore replaced some ignition parts as well. (Spark plug, ignition coil, breaker, carbons, ignition cable, condensor, battery. And it started! And runs. But wont charge! Red light shines bright and the voltade stays at 6,25 something when revving.

I therefore cleaned stator and rotor, Electronic regulator from Uli's.
Still wont charge...Checked connections from battery to earth. I THINK I have the regulator connected correctly...Had to replace a cable from 31 to B+ (too short) - the purple one. (It goes from 51 now but thats the same right?)
I have a multimeter but I am a newbie when it comes to electrics...
I will add a pic as it is now. (Have to reduce size of the file)

I am very grateful for any assistance...

FelixM

FelixM

4Taktix

Hi Felix,
- did the dynamo charge (red light off) before the engine died on the longer drive ?
- was it the original regulator on that drive ?
  if so, you have to isolate the resistance-wire from field coil 1 for usual when changing to a electronic-regulator. See description of regulator.
- did it ever charge, as long as you have the bike ?
- Check your brushes/coals: long enough ? (the attached cables must not touch the duct at the lower end of the slot )
  do the coil-springs push them down with decent force ?  Are their cables crossed ?
- for a basic check of your dynamo, use search-term "Ultimativer Lima-Dummie-Kurzcheck" or see here:
https://bmw-einzylinder.de/forum/index.php?topic=8314.msg109309#msg109309
and to disentangle electric relationships: consider Ignition and dynamo with regulator as two different systems.